Front Yard Exploration

Every now and then, as a parent, we need to remind ourselves to slow down. Stop and take a look at what you miss every day on the way to your car or on the way to check the mail. Your front yard can be explored just like a park down the street.  Yesterday Jackson and I did just this.

We stopped. We listened. We explored. 

And you know what, we had a lot of fun. It was maybe only 15-20 minutes for exploration, but it was something different.

We 1st went out and had a seat on our walkway. He loves it when I get a blade of grass between my thumbs and make that high pitch whistle sound. He even tries to immitate. Even if he usually just ends up putting the whole piece of grass in his mouth trying to figure it out. He is still trying and learning.

I had him find some purple flowers. My mexican petunias are always in bloom so this was what he picked. I’m ok with that since they are everywhere lining the front walk.

IMG_3199

IMG_3200

IMG_3201

He started running out of blooms he could reach so he decided he just wanted to run from the door to me.

IMG_3203

IMG_3202

Yes, I still have a santa wreath up. Yes, I will change it when I feel inspired to make a spring time wreath.

And then he stopped and stared at our spiders. I loathe spiders. But these guys don’t bother me much since they stay on one side of the walk. If they crossed the line then they would be goners.

IMG_3205

 While we still waited for daddy to arrive home we though we would play a little animal game. He showed me how kangaroos hopped, snakes slither, bears roamed and growled, and how a lion ran. Haha. And we were able to do that on the wet grass (Thanks Rain!) so he was sure to get extra dirty.

IMG_3204 IMG_3206

Sometimes play is more than playing. It is learning, using your imagination, exploring what is around you, and just having fun!

Get out and enjoy your own yard and see what all you find!

Leave a Reply

