Bottle Cap friends

My family and I the past few weekends have been going to our friends house to swim. Last weekend we were sitting around and Jack found 2 bottle caps and put them together like they were a mouth. What kid doesn’t do that? Heck, I am almost 28 years old and I STILL do that! But seeing a 3 year old do that got my creative juices running and here is what we did.

What you need:

  •   Bottle caps (at least 2 per friend)
  •   Small piece of ribbon (we used red for a tongue)
  •   1 medium sized pom-pom
  •  2 google eyes ( more or less depending on what you want your friend to look like)
  •   Spray paint
  •    Hot glue

Step 1:

Spray paint your bottle caps what ever color you want. If they are already plain no biggie. I just didn’t want my son’s friend to be a corona bottle cap.

IMG_4648

IMG_4649

(I LOVE this color, I even used it to spray paint my hanging flower pots) 

IMG_4650

Step 2: 

Get your pom-pom and your small google eyes ( or which ever size you have or want) and hot glue the eyes on the pom-pom.

IMG_4651

IMG_4653

Step 3:

Cut your small piece of ribbon on the end to make a V, just like a snake tongue.  This step is optional if you don’t want your friend to have a tongue.

Step 4:

Once your bottle caps are dry, place your ribbon on the bottom of one cap so it is hanging out just a little bit.

IMG_4690

 

Step 5:

Hot glue the other bottle cap into the one with the ribbon.

IMG_4691 IMG_4692

 

 

Now you can have friends in all sorts of colors and make them with different faces. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

